Rep. Engel: Senate Needs to Confirm Loretta Lynch as Attorney General

Rep. Engel: Senate Needs to Confirm Loretta Lynch as Attorney General

Signs letter to Senate Majority leader Mitch McConnell urging immediate confirmation

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Eliot Engel, a senior member of the House Energy and Commerce, issued the following statement regarding the delayed confirmation of Loretta Lynch as Untied States Attorney General:

“The American public is tired of Congressional Republicans stonewalling important measures in the name of partisan gamesmanship. Loretta Lynch is an eminently qualified candidate for Attorney General, who passed a Senate Judiciary Committee vote for confirmation with bipartisan support. Delaying a full Senate vote to try and punish the President for his immigration policy is shameful, and ultimately serves as nothing more than a childish distraction at a time when we face serious issues at home and abroad. I recently joined with 58 of my colleagues in writing to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell urging him to end this charade and allow for an immediate up-or-down vote on Ms. Lynch’s confirmation. Matters like the appointment of a new Attorney General are far too important to be bedeviled by partisan games. It is time to move forward on this and I urge my Republican colleagues in the Senate to confirm Loretta Lynch as Attorney General without further delay.”

Below is the text of the letter signed by Congressman Engel and 58 other House Democrats addressed to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell:



Dear Leader McConnell:

We are writing to urge you to schedule a vote on the confirmation of Loretta Lynch to serve as Attorney General of the United States. We believe that Ms. Lynch deserves an up-or-down vote on her own merits and that her confirmation should not be held up because of a dispute over federal funding for women’s health care in an unrelated bill.

As you know, Ms. Lynch’s nomination was advanced by the Senate Judiciary Committee in a bipartisan vote on February 26. At a time when the Justice Department is busy addressing multiple challenges, its agents, attorneys, and other staff deserve the certainty that comes with confirmed leadership in place.

Ms. Lynch has a distinguished record serving as U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of New York – one of the nation’s busiest and most challenging jurisdictions. She was first nominated to that post by President Clinton in 1999, after working her way up the ranks as a prosecutor, helping to get drugs off the streets and bring violent criminals to justice. Ms. Lynch has sat as a member of the board of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and has been in private practice with one of the nation’s largest and most respected law firms. This diversity of experience will serve her well at the helm of a Department charged with prosecuting dangerous criminals and terror suspects, waging the war on drugs, and cracking down on financial crimes. She would also make history as the first African-American woman to lead the Justice Department.

With her strong background to recommend her, and with bipartisan support from the Judiciary Committee, Ms. Lynch deserves a swift, up-or-down vote for confirmation. There is no reason to delay taking this action, and we hope you will heed the many calls to do so.

Thank you for your consideration.



Steny H. Hoyer (MD-5)
Yvette Clarke (NY-9)
Alma Adams (NC-5)
Karen Bass (CA-37)
Joyce Beatty (OH-3)
Sanford Bishop, Jr. (GA-2)
Corrine Brown (FL-5)
G.K. Butterfield (NC-1)
Andre Carson (IN-7)
W.M. Lacy Clay (MO-1)
Emanuel Cleaver, II (MO-5)
James E. Clyburn (SC-6)
John Conyers (M-13)
Joseph Crowley (NY-14)
Elijah Cummings (MD-7)
Danny Davis (IL-7)
Donna Edwards (MD-4)
Keith Ellison (MN-5)
Eliot Engel (NY-16)
Chaka Fattah (PA-2)
Marcia Fudge (OH-11)
Al Green (TX-9)
Alcee Hastings (FL-20)
Brian Higgins (NY-26)
Steve Israel (NY-3)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Hakeem Jeffries (NY-8)
Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30)
Hank Johnson (GA-4)
Robin Kelly (IL-2)
Brenda Lawrence (MI-14)
Barbara Lee (CA-13)
John Lewis (GA-5)
Nita Lowey (NY-17)
Carolyn Maloney (NY-12)
Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18)
Gregory Meeks (NY-5)
Grace Meng (NY-6)
Gwen Moore (WI-4)
Jerrold Nadler (NY-10)
Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-AL)
Donald Payne, Jr. (NJ-10)
Stacey Plaskett (VI)
Charles Rangel (NY-13)
Kathleen Rice (NY-4)
Cedric Richmond (LA-2)
Bobby Rush (IL-1)
Bobby Scott (VA-3)
David Scott (GA-13)
Jose Serrano (NY-15)
Terri Sewell (AL-7)
Louise Slaughter (NY-25)
Bennie Thompson (MS-2)
Paul Tonko (NY-20)
Marc Veasey (TX-33)
Nydia Velazquez (NY-7)
Maxine Waters (CA-43)
Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)
Frederica Wilson (FL-24)